Landcare Groups in the Upper Murrumbidgee

What is Landcare?

Landcare is about individuals volunteering their time and expertise to take care of land, water and social issues which may be happening in their local area.

Landcare is also about community empowerment - it is the way people come together to better understand and find solutions to local problems. Through cooperation, groups can solve problems/issues that cannot be effectively undertaken by individuals.

In the Upper Murrumbidgee there are currently 17 Landcare Groups tackling problems that degrade our environment and reduce productivity. These issues include weeds, declining water quality, remnant vegetation management and soil erosion.

UMLC supports 17 Landcare groups in the upper catchment:

  1. Queanbeyan
  2. Carwoola
  3. Hoskinstown
  4. Captains Flat
  5. Fernleigh Park
  6. Little Burra
  7. Royalla
  8. Burra
  9. Smiths Road
  10. Michelago
  11. Upper Queanbeyan / Bredbo Rivers
  12. Bredbo
  13. Numeralla
  14. Cooma
  15. Cooma-Murrumbidgee
  16. Adaminaby
  17. Nimmitabel

Upper Murrumbidgee Landcare Groups map

Upper Murrumbidgee Landcare Groups map